Meet Jillian Brinberg, Education/Artistic Intern

19 Jul
Intern Name: Jillian Brinberg
Intern Department: Education and Artistic
School/College/University: Carnegie Mellon University
Major: Cognitive Psychology/Business Administration
Year: Junior
Mentors/Bosses: Dennis Walters and Rebecca Schwartz
Favorite M&M Color: Despite the fact that I have the world’s largest sweet tooth (hence the picture), I am actually not a fan of chocolate. But if I had to pick, I’d go with my favorite color: teal.
Current Projects you are working on: I am helping Rebecca plan the Young Dancer Summer Workshop, a summer intensive for students who are too young for the main program. Twice a week I work with the artistic department helping them calculate overtime for the company dancers. In addition, the other education interns and I run a pointe shoe store and work for Dennis on outreach programs including study guides, pre-performance workshops, and ballet for the new audiences.
***************************
Hi future potential ABT interns.
If you’re interested in learning about any aspect of arts administration, I can’t recommend the ABT internship program enough! I’ve already learned so much about the education department, the artistic department, and what goes in to running a company like this one. In the past few weeks alone I’ve gotten to do some really amazing things (which I’ll be sure to write about) and I’m certain that the rest of the summer will be even better. Sometimes this is a very strange place to work, sometimes it’s funny, sometimes it’s confusing, but it’s always entertaining. I’ll make sure to keep you up to date on what’s going on in the education department, so be sure to check back regularly. 🙂
-Jillian
Leave a Reply

